Friday, May 27, 2011

Congratulations, graduates!

Congratulations to all who graduated last weekend!   WestConn has a web page dedicated to 2011 Commencement.  Enjoy! 

Friday, May 13, 2011

Congrats to Emily Cole!

Congratulations to English major Emily Cole, who is one of two WestConn recipients of the prestigious Henry Barnard Distinguished Student Awards from the CSUS Foundation! 

Emily and the 11 other CSUS recipients (including fellow WCSU recipient Bryan Bielefeldt, a graphics design major) were honored on 11 May 2011 at the 23rd Annual Henry Barnard Distinguished Student Awards Banquet at the Aqua Turf in Plantsville, CT.

Emily is graduating next weekend and will begin her graduate studies at Fordham University in Fall 2011.

Congratulations, Emily!  We are so proud of you and your accomplishments!

Monday, May 9, 2011

Psi Chi induction, JUPR reception

Left to right, the 2011 Psi Chi inductees are Brian Osar,  Meredithe Talibon, Arielle Berthod, Melissa Hood, Tabytha Donaldson, Ryan Slaiby, Danielle Spangler, Zachary Kunicki, Matthew Donofrio, Mariana Ornaff, and Laura Bergh.

The WCSU chapter of Psi Chi, the International Honor Society in Psychology,  inducted 15 new members on May 6 at a ceremony at the Westside Campus Center.

The new WCSU Psi Chi members are as follows:  Samantha Augustine, Laura Bergh, Arielle Berthod, Tabytha Donaldson, Matthew Donofrio, Melissa Hood, Zachary Kunicki, Candy Murias, Mariana Ornaff, Brian Osar, Glenda Schweitzer, Ryan Slaiby, Danielle Spangler, Meredithe Talibon, and Meghan Zadrowski.

WCSU has had a Psi Chi chapter for 40 years.  Faculty advisors for 2011 were Drs. Kristin Henkel and Shane Murphy.

At this same event, the Psychology Department also celebrated the release of the latest edition of the WCSU Journal of Undergraduate Psychological Research (JUPR).  Dr. Patricia O'Neill served as 2011 faculty advisor.  Student editors were Shannon Engel (editor) and Antonia Giannakakos (assistant editor).  Students publishing articles included Shannon Engel, Rebecca Stephens, Josh Ryan, Krista Mayer, Ariel Berthod, Jacqueline Howard, Bridgette Pasquarella, Zarachy Kunicki. Meredithe Talibon, Megan Zagradowski, Jennifer Rota, and William Milvae.  Faculty reviewers were Drs. Daniel Barrett, Robin Flanagan, Norine Jalbert, and Shane Murphy.

Dr. John Dovidio of Yale University was the guest speaker.

Congratulations to all!