Monday, May 9, 2011

Psi Chi induction, JUPR reception

Left to right, the 2011 Psi Chi inductees are Brian Osar,  Meredithe Talibon, Arielle Berthod, Melissa Hood, Tabytha Donaldson, Ryan Slaiby, Danielle Spangler, Zachary Kunicki, Matthew Donofrio, Mariana Ornaff, and Laura Bergh.

The WCSU chapter of Psi Chi, the International Honor Society in Psychology,  inducted 15 new members on May 6 at a ceremony at the Westside Campus Center.

The new WCSU Psi Chi members are as follows:  Samantha Augustine, Laura Bergh, Arielle Berthod, Tabytha Donaldson, Matthew Donofrio, Melissa Hood, Zachary Kunicki, Candy Murias, Mariana Ornaff, Brian Osar, Glenda Schweitzer, Ryan Slaiby, Danielle Spangler, Meredithe Talibon, and Meghan Zadrowski.

WCSU has had a Psi Chi chapter for 40 years.  Faculty advisors for 2011 were Drs. Kristin Henkel and Shane Murphy.

At this same event, the Psychology Department also celebrated the release of the latest edition of the WCSU Journal of Undergraduate Psychological Research (JUPR).  Dr. Patricia O'Neill served as 2011 faculty advisor.  Student editors were Shannon Engel (editor) and Antonia Giannakakos (assistant editor).  Students publishing articles included Shannon Engel, Rebecca Stephens, Josh Ryan, Krista Mayer, Ariel Berthod, Jacqueline Howard, Bridgette Pasquarella, Zarachy Kunicki. Meredithe Talibon, Megan Zagradowski, Jennifer Rota, and William Milvae.  Faculty reviewers were Drs. Daniel Barrett, Robin Flanagan, Norine Jalbert, and Shane Murphy.

Dr. John Dovidio of Yale University was the guest speaker.

Congratulations to all!